Eddie Howe is likely the English Premier League winner ahead of Steven Gerrard, Graham Potter and Frank Lampard

EDDIE HOWE has been rated 5/1 by Sky Bet to become the first English manager to win the Premier League.

The Newcastle boss tops the list of England who Sky Bet say have the best chance of winning the Premier League first.


Newcastle boss Eddie Howe has been touted as most likely to be the first English manager to win the Premier League trophy.


There has never been an English manager to win the Premier League since its inception in 1992.

Current Aston Villa manager Steven Gerrard is next in line, priced at 8/1.

Brighton’s Graham Potter is rated a 14/1 shot, and Frank Lampard, who recently avoided relegation from Everton, is rated at 16/1.

England manager Gareth Southgate and current Bournemouth boss Scott Parker are also on the list according to Sky Bet, at 20/1 and 25/1 respectively.

Howe took the reins at Newcastle with the bottom of the league, five points from safety after just 11 games.

The former Bournemouth manager had just one win in their first ten games and by the end of January the Magpies were still four points from safety.

But a series of inspired forms from there saw Newcastle just two points off a place in the first half, as they finished 11th.

The Magpies’ Saudi owners make the club the richest in the league, so big money transfers are expected to be made in a bid to continue pushing Newcastle up the league over the next few years, with silverware the target.

First English manager to win the Premier League

Sky Bet Odds

  • Eddie Howe 5/1
  • Steven Gerard 8/1
  • Graham Potter 14/1
  • Frank Lampard 16/1
  • Gareth Southgate 20/1
  • Scott Parker 25/1
  • Terry jeans 33/1
  • Dean Smith 50/1
  • Wayne Rooney 66/1
  • Chris Wilder 150/1


It is believed that Gerrard’s next managerial post after Aston Villa, should he succeed, would be back at his boyhood club Liverpool.

Gerrard spent his entire playing career at Liverpool except for a short stint at LA Galaxy before his retirement.

Two Scottish managers have managed to lift the trophy – Sir Alex Ferguson 13 times with Manchester United and Kenny Dalglish with Blackburn in 1995.

The last Englishman to win English football’s top flight was Howard Wilkinson with Leeds in 1992.

There are currently five English managers plying their trade in the Premier League.

Howe (Newcastle), Gerrard (Aston Villa), Potter (Brighton) and Lampard (Everton) will be joined by Scott Parker next season, who won promotion with Bournemouth from the Championship.


Remember to gamble responsibly

A responsible player is a person who:

  • Set time and money limits before playing
  • Only plays with money he can afford to lose
  • Never chase their losses
  • Don’t play if upset, angry or depressed
  • Gamcare – www.gamcare.org.uk
  • Gamble Aware – www.begambleaware.org