2022 Irene Adler Prize awarded to Emma McGill: English

VANCOUVER, British Columbia, Aug. 02, 2022 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) — Emma McGill has won the 2022 Irene Adler Award for her essay ‘Unearthing Lost Mementos’. McGill, who will receive $1,000 for her education, is seeking a bachelor’s degree in English with a focus on creative writing at the University of Regina. “It’s exciting to announce the first Canadian winner in the history of the award,” said scholarship founder Lucas Aykroyd.

Launched in 2017, the annual Irene Adler Award provides a $1,000 scholarship to a woman pursuing a degree in journalism, creative writing or literature at a recognized post-secondary institution in the United States or Canada, based on an essay contest.

“Emma’s writing beautifully captures her desire to find continuity and preserve memories in a transient world,” Aykroyd said. “This essay also motivates writers to continue overcoming self-doubt and finding inspiration in unlikely places.”

Honorable mentions went to Yvette Saenz (“Diary No. 1”), who is pursuing her master’s degree in creative writing at the University of Arizona, and Reese Arbini (“A Voyage Need Not Be More Than a Ride Home” ), who is doing her master’s degree in literature and writing at the University of Virginia.

Aykroyd is an award-winning writer and speaker from Vancouver whose work has appeared in The New York Times, Washington Post, Toronto Star, Ms. Magazine and Shondaland. A member of the Association for Women in Sports Media, he has covered women’s hockey for IIHF.com at six Olympic Games, contributes to Arizona State University’s Global Sport Matters project, and is editor of the newsletter of WomenSport International. Aykroyd holds an MA in English Literature from the University of Victoria, which earned him the Distinguished Alumni Award.

The Irene Adler Prize is named after the heroine of the 1891 Sherlock Holmes detective novel ‘A Scandal in Bohemia’ by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

To learn more about the Irene Adler Prize, the 2022 winning essay and past winners, see:


The 2023 Irene Adler Prize submission guidelines will be released in January.

Lucas Aykroyd
Website: lucasaykroyd.com
Email: [email protected]

Related links

This content was posted through the press release distribution service on Newswire.com.